Labour-Hame-roseNews update.


The new Scottish Shadow Cabinet and shadow ministerial team has been announced. Nobody is staying in the same job they had under the previous leadership – this is a root and branch rebuilding of the Scottish front bench.

Both of Jim Murphy’s competitors for the leadership have been given prominent roles, an indication that the new leadership is reaching out and unifying the party after what was, in fairness, a pretty collegiate leadership election, but one which certainly highlighted differences.

A promotion for Jenny Marra to Health demonstrates a commitment to new faces and new ideas, while the Education job for Iain Gray shows continuity and strength.

The full shadow cabinet is as follows:

Leader: Jim Murphy

Deputy Leader: Kezia Dugdale

Finance, Constitution & Economy: Jackie Baillie

Infrastructure, Investment and Cities: Mary Fee

Fair Work, Skills and Training: Neil Findlay

Education & Lifelong Learning: Iain Gray

Health, Wellbeing and Sport: Jenny Marra

Social Justice, Communities & Pensioners’ rights: Ken Mackintosh

Justice: Hugh Henry

Rural Affairs, Food & Environment: Sarah Boyack

Culture, Europe & External Affairs: Claire Baker

Parliamentary Business Manager: James Kelly

Also attending cabinet:

Chief Whip: Neil Bibby

Enterprise: Graeme Pearson

Related Posts