SEC election: big win for Scottish Labour moderates

Over the last three weeks Scottish Labour members have been voting to elect their representatives on the Scottish Executive Committee. With results in today it’s looking like a big win for the Scottish Labour leadership as moderate candidates were returned across the country.

Labour Hame understands the results from the CLP section to be as follows:

  • Lothians / South of Scotland: Sheila Gilmore and Scott Arthur elected.
  • Highlands & Islands / North East Scotland: Lynn Thomson and Deena Tissera elected.
  • Central Scotland / Glasgow: Suzan King and James McPhilemy elected.
  • West Scotland / Mid Scotland & Fife: Johanna Baxter and Cara Hilton elected.

The Youth section saw victory for the Momentum-endorsed Radical Futures slate, Lauren Harper and Coll McCail.

Moderates within the party are said to be delighted with this set of results overall, and note that many votes were won by significant margins. Meanwhile arch-Corbynite and former MSP Neil Findlay was reduced to tweeting a conspiracy theory that paper ballots were shredded by Labour HQ – a tricky argument to make given that the vote was run independently by Civica Election Services, and used electronic voting.

Related Posts